Lords of the Sea by Elías Snæland Jónsson placed
on the year 2000 IBBY world honour list

7. October 1999. It was announced today that the novel Lords of the Sea
by Elías Snæland Jónsson has been placed on the
IBBY honour list
for the years 2000-2002. Every other year the best books from countries
around the world are chosen to receive this honour.
IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People)
is a
non-profit organization which represents an international
network of people from all over the world who are committed to bringing
books and children together.
The IBBY Honour List is a biennial selection
of outstanding, recently published books, honouring writers,
illustrators and translators from IBBY member countries.